Buy the TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead on http://www.hirekogolf.com Print This PagePrint This Page
TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead image
 
(based on 52 ratings)
Brand: Hireko
Located in: Club Components, Golf Drivers
Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:The inspiration of the unique geometry shape is based on the Amazonian Black Caiman. This powerful beast preys mostly on birdies and eagles and is fearless in devouring the competition on golf courses around the globe. Several iterations of this driver were drafted using CAD software until we were able to optimize the CG location for the best results. The elongated breadth, coupled with internal weighting produces an extremely stable, high moment of inertia design for exceptional raw distance and control off of the tee. Rounding out this design is a Physical Vapor Deposition (PVD) coating, creating not only an extremely durable finish, but also providing a lustrous black appearance. The process involves the deposition of titanium carbon nitride under low vacuum conditions. Conforms with USGA Rules.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 52 reviews)
92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Accurate(45), Durable(3), Great distance(29), Great feel(43), Large head(24)
Cons:
Poor quality(3)
Best Uses:
Long holes(32), Narrow fairways(17), Off the tee(39), Replacement(9), Upgrade(18)
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ recreational(9), Golf enthusiast(39), Tournament golfer(4)
Handicap:
10(4), 16(4)
Was this a gift?:
No(8)
 
Very, very nice club..
By The ScatmanVerified Reviewer from Wallingford, PA on 4/3/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Head
Cons:
none yet
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
13
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I assembled the Caiman 3 wood with a Saishin 65 red shaft. After a few practice sessions I was very pleased with the results. I purchases the 9.5 driver head for my brother and paired it with the same Saishin 65 shaft. Asked him if I could test drive it today. Played the back 9 with this driver. I am normally 10 yards behind my playing partners when we play. On the back nine today I was consistently 10 to 20 yards longer and very straight. Hit one on the heel of the club and the ball still traveled 220 yards. Very pleased with the results. Needless to say I have to make one for myself as we have a golf trip scheduled in two weeks. Find the sweet spot and this club launches the ball with very little effort.

 
Nice Driver, nothing special
By N/AVerified Reviewer from Long Island, NY on 4/2/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Head
Cons:
Poor Construction, Something came loose
Best Uses:
Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
10
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

Paired head with a SK Fiber Rocket 85 (X-Stiff), length 46". The club felt fine. I didn't notice anything extraordinary compared to my Snake Eyes Driver. I was disappointed that the first time I used it at the driving range, something came loose in the head. Also disappointed that customer service gave me a hard time about returning the head. All I kept hearing was I had to disassemble the club and there was no guarantee that I would be reimbursed.

 
Great product at a great price
By golfmarshal2000 from Hemet CA on 11/30/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
10
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I have built 6 of these drivers & have sold them off the driving range have nothing but positive feed back . This last one I tried a 12 loft with a new shaft by Harrison Eclipse reg. 55gram so far I really like the feel & the ball flight is a lot steeper so am getting more distance . Would recomend to a friend .

 
OEM'S have nothing on this Driver
By BobVerified Reviewer from Apple Valley, CA on 11/23/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee, Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

Built one for me and one for a friend. Feels soft at impact on the hands but really comes off the face hot. Goes the direction I hit it, good or bad. Can't blame the club for the operators bad swing.My friend has had the same experience. Have to wait for the high dollar OEM players to hit their 2nd shots most of the time.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
horribleeee
By FadeVerified Reviewer from Port Jervis on 10/4/2010
Cons:
No distance off tee, Poor Construction
Best Uses:
none
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
10
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

ive hit many drivers and this is the worst ive ever hit...i usually driver the ball 245-270 and i couldnt get the drive out to 200..one or two times i did it....but, i also had a professional try it and he hit it only 210 at most ...would not recommend to anyone...scatches very easily

 
WOW
By Tom WilsonVerified Reviewer from Monroeville, Pa. on 9/17/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Off The Tee, Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

This driver head provides the accuracy, distance, and power off the tee.

Do yourself, and your coustomers a favor make this driver your next club/

 
The Caiman driver is a great value.
By OLD RUBEVerified Reviewer from BAD AXE MI. 48413 on 9/16/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I have the 12 degree loft it gets off the ground quick and has good distance.

 
Looks sharp, feels sharp, hits sharp.
By NormVerified Reviewer from Groveland, FL on 9/16/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee, Replacement
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

This was a replacement head I installed for a friend. His comment, "More accurate than anything I have hit before". His son hit this
club and said he hit it farther than the top
name brand driver he had in his bag.

 
For it's shape, it's big off the tee.
By Golfdoc69Verified Reviewer from Mpls,Minnesota on 8/4/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great looking for a 460cc
Best Uses:
Off The Tee, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
10
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

As a club builder of 24 years, this head is a hit with 20 - 40 age group. Great eye appeal for a 460cc, doesn't look big and bulky, has been 1st comment. 6 didn't like the head design, out of 24 that have tried it. 7 out of 24, hit farther than their driver. Range 10 to 25 yards more distance.

 
Straight, Straight, Straight!
By 77 RepresentVerified Reviewer from Mentor, OH on 8/3/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Large Head
Best Uses:
Replace a "name" driver
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
9
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

On all but my worst swings, this driver kept it in play. My miss went from a 235 yard slice to a 245 to 255 yard fade. I paired the driver with a grafalloy pro launch red stiff, which was ideal for my 110 swing speed with a quicker transition. I have the 9.5 degree Caiman and this one will be in my bag for a LONG time. Grip and head from Hireko, I picked up the shaft on an online auction site (eguess ewho?), and built this driver for UNDER 100 dollars. Incredible performance for the price.

 
GREAT DRIVER FOR THE PRICE
By LEROY BOYVerified Reviewer from LAS VEGAS, NEVADA on 7/29/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
16
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I'M HAVING A BLAST WITH THIS DRIVER EVEN WITH AN INEXPENSIVE SHAFT.

 
CaimanTitanmium Driver
By Rich from Greentown Pa. on 6/26/2010
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I built This Club with a true ace blue crush shaft regular flex.I'm 70 with a swing speed of around 85.The club head is 91/2 and a 46" shaft length.I hit it longer and eliminated my slice.So far I like it,and it feels good

 
Wow!
By Re-GowferVerified Reviewer from Haddon Twp, NJ on 6/2/2010
Pros:
Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

The ball goes a long way off the face of this club. This is a nice hitting club with a not unpleasant 'ping' when hit with a nice feel. I paired it with a blue crush shaft - all that black'n'blue prompted the nickname "the bruiser"!!

 
Driver tops off set
By KenVerified Reviewer from Goldsby, Oklahoma on 5/27/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Cons:
no cons
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

This great driver has just topped off my set of caiman clubs. It could not be better!!!

 
Very Impressed
By dynomikeVerified Reviewer from wisconsin on 5/18/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Tournament Golfer
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

Very impressed with this Driver. Very accurate, not the longest driver out there but who cares when you are in the fairway most of the time. I built this driver in a 10.5 with a Velocity shaft cut at stiff for a customer who never picked it up, so I decided to play with it. I am simply amazed that this [$] set up will hang with or simply outperform the oem's on so many levels. This club sounds good and looks great, not closed 4 degrees like so many of the new drivers out now. The velocity shaft is amazing as well, for under 10 bucks you can not find a better shaft. Don't be fooled by the higher torque rating, feels more like a 3-4, and frequency was right on. Great job Hireko!!!

 
so far so good...but!
By driver 64Verified Reviewer from newfoundland Canada on 4/28/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Off The Tee, Replacement, Shape good draws and fade
Describe Yourself:
Tournament Golfer
Handicap:
8 handicap
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

so far so good! distance is very nice ..i am in Nl canada and the air is still cold so better distance when it warms up, BUT i am not pleased with the finish around the hosel..no paint just bare metal??? Not too impressed there! I have been building clubs for 8 years and never came across that.....

 
Are You Kidding Me!
By BixVerified Reviewer from Melbourne, FL on 4/20/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Hot Face, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
All of the above
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
15 And Falling
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

Very nice head. Ball flight tends to be a little low so pair it with a mid to high loft shaft.

 
Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver
By MikeVerified Reviewer from San Antonio, TX on 4/4/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Cons:
Head cracked after 6 mos
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

Put 9.5 deg Caiman on an Aldila Gamer, great combo. Unfortunately, after 6 months or so it cracked on the sole about 1/4 inch behind the face. I remember it being consistently straight with good distance. Perhaps again?

 
Better than my Burner
By RichVerified Reviewer from Pittston, PA on 3/29/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Off The Tee, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
6
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I combined the 10.5 Caiman with an Alida DVS 60 shaft. The combination for me was jawdropping. It is still cold and wet in these parts and I am carrying the ball as far as I was hitting my Burner in mid summer last year. Got me convinced. I'm also able to move it left or right if need be. Great product. My Burner is long gone.

 
Sweet Driver
By Stevie RayVerified Reviewer from Sun City, TX on 11/15/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Nice Sound, Solid Feel
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
3
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I put the Caiman head (10.5 degree) together with a True Ace Blue Cadence R/S shaft ($20) and left it trimmed as regular. Along with a Karma Black/Blue Velvet .580 core grip (54 grams). When butt trimmed to make a 46 inch driver including grip butt, plus an extra wrap of grip tape, the Swing Weight of this combination came out to D2. Absolutely great. I'm a 59 year old 3 handicap and hit this driver about 275 when catching it solid.

This is a really good combination and the True Ace Blue Cadence shaft feels so nice. Every bit as good as the Fujikura Reax shafts that come in the Taylormade Burner drivers.

If you put a decent shaft in this driver, I really don't think you'll be disappointed but don't get the $9.95 cheapie shaft.

One other nice thing about the 10.5 degree head is that it is only .5 degrees closed, making it easy to hit a nice little power fade if that is your choice. Compared to the Taylormade Burner 10.5 debree head which is a full 1 degree closed, this head is a real peach.

I really love the feel of this club !!

 
Preliminary review
By KitoVerified Reviewer from nc on 11/9/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I got my Caiman 9.5 and a SK Fiber Pure energy stiff shaft on friday and glued it up. I took it to the range sunday morning to test drive it. I hit about 40 balls and my results were impressive. First off, this head looks puurrrdy and the build and paint quality looked great. I found it hard to not hit the ball straight. The sweet spot is huge on this thing. I took my 975J with me too and the Caiman is longer and more forgiving. I also like the sound at impact..not too loud but not muted. The black face tells you where you hit it but wipes off easily. I have the shaft cut at 46" but need to cut it back down to 45". This head shaft combination made for a higher ball flight then I desire and needed to adjust my ball position back to get it down. I will give another review once I test it some more.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Believe the reviews!
By DanVerified Reviewer from Duluth, MN on 10/7/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Off The Tee, Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
16
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I've built a few of these and many folks have hit this driver (with SK Fiber Lite Rev 1 shaft). With feedback from a couple of dozen people, they have ALL loved this club. Buddies last week in a scramble were all 3-5 handicappers and they were putting away their Ping, Cally and Taylormade drivers to hit this driver: all were very accomplished and they felt that their drivers did not exceed the Caiman's performance. Too bad the previous reviewer had a bad experience, but I've got over 20 golfers who have hit this club and love it!

 
Great Distance!
By BenVerified Reviewer from Oak Harbor, WA on 10/7/2009
Pros:
Great Distance, Great Feel
Cons:
Inaccurate
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Long wide fairways
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
14
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

Built with Blue Ice shaft "R" flex and left at 47" with Winns RF wraps. Got an extra few yards out of it but can't get the accuracy from it I get from my Snake Eyes Python. Sure do love the look of this puppy tho!!!!!
Would limit my recommendation to someone who plays wide fairways.

 
Really Looks COOL!!!
By Ball ChaserVerified Reviewer from Oak Harbor, WA on 10/2/2009
Pros:
Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Cons:
Inconsistant
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Wide fairways
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

This head gave me an added 30 yards but lost shot accuracy. Found it not to be consistant as old driver. Not for the beginner.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't beleive the reviews
By moyzerVerified Reviewer from loma linda ,ca on 9/4/2009
Pros:
Large Head
Cons:
Poor Construction
Best Uses:
Killing gophers
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
16
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

how much you pay for the good reviews? This ie one rotten driver. Not only ie it almost impossible to find the fairway but I could get no distance. I have played 3 rounds with it and have only hit the fairway 11 times and I have lost 15 to 20 yards off of the tee. I have finally given up on it.

 
I am not dissapointed on this purchase
By JPMVerified Reviewer from Ontario, Canada on 7/13/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I was initially skeptical about the claims for this club. After playing two rounds with it I convinced myself that this club does actually go straighter than any other driver I used. The distance is as long as my last driver, however I am more confident with using it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Better than my old driver
By BobbyVerified Reviewer from Greenfield, Wi on 7/1/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel
Best Uses:
Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

longer and more accurate than my Titleist 983K.
Caiman 10.5* loft, with a Acer X class A flex shaft,
total length 45in.

 
Great Driver
By JimVerified Reviewer from Central Pennsylvania on 6/11/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel
Best Uses:
Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

Assembled the 10.5 degree driver using the Adila "Gamer" stiff shaft as recommended. I've used it for about 9 rounds with-in the last month. I originally thought that it wasn't as long as my previous driver and the ball flight was too high, however after learning that a lower tee height is very critical to launch a boring ball with this club which is slightly unusual for a 460cc driver..I've picked up about 20 yards distance beyond my previous driver, usually in the fairway and the club is working out great.

 
Great Driver
By SpencerVerified Reviewer from Western NY on 6/4/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

The best driver I have ever owned. Way better than any of the OEM drivers!

 
Just a fine driver. Great feel.
By CharlieVerified Reviewer from Lawrenceville, VA on 6/4/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee, Replacement
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I just used this driver for the first time and was pleasantly surprised at the feel and accuracy it has. I get more distance than with my old driver but the confidence factor is the most important. I feel that every drive is going to be a good one! Just a great club.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ridiculous
By marmosetVerified Reviewer from Eastern PA on 6/3/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
17
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I have been a die-hard R7 player for years, not that I haven't tried others, but the R7 always won out in distance and control. I'm a total gear junkie, so to tell the truth I don't know how I even came to own the Caiman 10.5. I've always played a 9.5, so the Caiman just set there for a bit. I was experimenting with the Faz-Fit interchangable shaft system and didn't want to "screw up" a "good" head, so I grabbed the Caiman. After a range session I was blown away. My average R7 drive is 272yds (I keep stats with my gps). My bad Caiman drives were around 265yds. Several drives found the bushes at the back of the range (about 310). I'd occasionally do that with my R7. On my home course I actually had to change my strategy, because I was reaching trouble that I never had to worry about before (a nice problem to have). I hit 10 fairways (probably could have been 2 more had I taken a different line). Based on my gps readings from that round, my average driving distance increased from 272yds to 295yds! Ridiculous. I'm ordering the 9.5 today and looking to break 300yds. Every mid-handicap player out there (who doesn't live in Eastern PA) would do themselves a favor by picking one of these up. There's a reason the Caiman has over 20+ ***** rating here.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best of many component drivers I built
By Danno De MannoVerified Reviewer from Duluth, MN on 6/1/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Explosive, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot, Sound of POWer
Cons:
Loud is Good
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, OEMs have nuthin' on this, Off The Tee, Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
15
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I've built many Hireko drivers, and other makes (reshafting OEM's, most of the component clubhead companies, etc) and this is about the best I've built/played. It stays in my bag! Displaced a component head that cost 3-4x this head and was a fabulous driver that had stayed in my bag 2 whole years!, which is saying quite alot, but Caiman wins!
Paired with SK Fiber Lite Rev 1. Both head and shaft are lower to mid launchers, but the ball still goes plenty high and rolls a long way.

"Explosive" seems over-used, but it captures the experience. Not really any louder than anyone else's driver BTW, just a nice powerful sound. Excellent feel and feedback, just release Da Beast and it will do the job.

Looks much cooler that I thought it would from the pictures, lots of folks comment that it's really an eye-catcher. But, then they hit it and ask me, "who makes this club?" after their ball is way down the fairway.

Probably one of the best products I've seen from Hireko and I've been building (and loving) their components for about 8 years. Can't go wrong with Caiman!

 
Wow. Really nice!
By ChuckVerified Reviewer from RI on 5/5/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel
Cons:
None that I can see
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

My old driver was good but this new head feels like it accelerates itself on the down swing. I feel like it has less air resistance and is going faster. I'll have to check it but sure feels nice.

 
Awesome 10.5, Long and Straight
By Big Daddy BlaineVerified Reviewer from Dayton, Maine on 5/4/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow Fairways, Off The Tee, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

Caimen 10.5 Driver assembled with spine aligned True Temper Rocket Senior Flex graphite shaft and Golf Pride Tour Wrap grip.
My golf partners are amazed with how straight and long I hit this driver, it has improved my game off the tee tremendously!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
SUPERIOR TRAJECTORY
By NO nickname just Phil.Verified Reviewer from E. Longmeadow, Mass on 5/4/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Distance, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

Just turned 69 years old and loosing distance every year.Clubhead speed with driver is 93 mph down 10 mph from 10 years ago. Have played for 50 years and usually buy at least 2 drivers and 2 sets of irons every year and have already bought a new 2009 Taylormade Burner 10.5 reg and Titleist AP1 graphite irons this year. I do all my own club work and bought the Caimen 12 deg head based on an article in one of the golf magazines. Installed a Fujikura Fit-on-11 Six reg. tipped 1" and 45" overall. Have only hit it at the range comparing it to my Burner and my Ping Rapture 9 deg. Trajectory is perfect for me and actually lower than that of the Taylor. Overall distance is excellent a bit longer than both the Taylor and the Ping and is also very straight. Can't wait to play a round with it .May finally be convinced that a great driver doesn't have to cost [$]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
OME Quality Driver
By Rich the Club BuuilderVerified Reviewer from Denver on 11/10/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Forgiving, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Tournament Golfer
Handicap:
14
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

This driver is a surpurb product! I assembled it with a Cadence 55 shaft and a Karma grip and couldn't be happier. I regularly hit between 225-240 yards with this driver. My total cost was under $100, which represents less than a third of the cost of many OME drivers on the market. The club has a classic look at address and does not appear large and bulky. By "teeing it high and letting fly" this driver has actually made driving one of the most enjoyable parts of my current game. Incidently, the matching fairway wood and hybrid clubs make for a very nice set. I would say this is the best driver I have ever owned. The decoration and paint job makes it an attractive club and one for which I have been offered $250 for on the spot. Needless, to say, I didn't sell, but made one for the customer for about half that price and he has been back for a full set of irons and hybrids!! Great product!

 
straight, powrful, easy to hit
By MARVerified Reviewer from Dogwood Golf Club, Dutchess County ,NY on 10/14/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
20 and comming down
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

fine driver with the q shaft. good addition. shape is clean, sound is modes, unlike my new Sumo SQ clanger. feels stable s do other q models like the two screw driver. Shaft is modest in cost but excellent--reshafted all my Power Play woods and hybrids--and I have lots--old series and new and they are all new clubs, though the large woods remain better and more useful than the hybrids. All in all a bargain driver that performs like the best of the mainline drivers if not better...and the reshafted clubs are killers as well......

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
9.5 degree is a home run
By jumpin jimmyVerified Reviewer from colfax, wa on 10/2/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Large Sweet Spot, Long, Straight
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
5
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

This club is awesome. I have the 10.5 and bought the 9.5 to get a little more distance. I got distance and the most accurage club off the tee, just like the 10.5. I have tried several lower degree drivers and while I can hit them long, they are not consistent. The 9.5 is long and straight. It exceeded my expectations and they were already high with the 10.5. Thanks for making the 9.5 degree version of an already great club.

 
I should know better by now
By Pastor ChrisVerified Reviewer from Stillwater, OK on 9/24/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Off The Tee, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I need to stop lending out my drivers. My neighbor borrowed my Caiman(see earlier post) and bought it after one round. Long, straight and in the fairway like never before for him. I may order 2 heads at a time from now on just to save time.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Looks but
By Phil McVerified Reviewer from Smyrna, TN on 9/14/2008
Pros:
Great Feel, Large Head
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I really like the look and feel of this driver head but I have tried 3 different shafts with somewhat disappointing results. After several rounds and countless sessions at the range, I still prefer my previous driver - the Dynacraft Avatar Inversion 9.1 degree.

 
Even better than the Q2
By Pastor ChrisVerified Reviewer from Stillwater, OK on 9/8/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Off The Tee, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

Had my Q2 bought out from under me, (another great Hireko design)leaving me with the need to replace it. I made a 12* Caiman for a friend that won't stop raving about it, so I thought I might give it a try. Stuck an X-stiff UST shaft in a 10.5* head, and surprised myself with the feel, distance, and straightness. Was out-driving my former golf-pro brother, watching him hit from the rough while I was in the middle of the fairway. Worth twice the price, and really responsive to a better shaft. Save your money on the big boys, buy the big hitter.

 
Best Driver Anywhere
By ChuckVerified Reviewer from Claremore, Ok on 9/5/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Cons:
Nothing
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
Bogey golfer
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I am 68 years of age, to be able to drive 275-300 yards, makes me feel young again, I absolutely love this driver, I can not wait until the new #3 wood comes out, I will buy it immediately.

 
I will recommend this driver to friends
By BobVerified Reviewer from Burlington, MA on 8/3/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel
Best Uses:
Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
11
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

assembled with Aldila Gamer shaft as suggested by Jeff. Very happy with response so far. Will try fairway wood when available(have ordered components)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sold and Straight
By Ernie the ElderVerified Reviewer from Raleigh, NC on 7/31/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Straight
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Narrow fairways, Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
15-16
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I built this club to compare with my Mantara XL driver (which I love) - both are 10.5 degrees and are fitted with True Ace Green Ghost shaft, tipped between regular and stiff. I am 71 and am looking for a reliable driver.

This club is more dependably straight than the Mantara, but to date (I have played it a half dozen times) doesn't go quite as far as the XL. I use a Natural swing and my ball flight with the Mantara is lower than with the Caiman, and has a greater amount of top spin, adding at least 50 yards to my ball flight. The Caiman has more of a normal ball flight with a greater carry distance, but does not roll as far.

I recommend this club for those who want to be able to have the ball go where you aim - it is ideal for narrow fairways. The club has a great look, and I already have built one for a friend.

 
Nice! I Like it!!!
By SandmanVerified Reviewer from Honolulu, Hawaii on 7/25/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel
Best Uses:
Off The Tee, Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
19
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

Caiman 12 degree built with a spined and aligned Cadence 55 R shaft. 45" total length with a Winn DSi midsize grip. Tip weight added to make D3 SW.
I'll say that this driver feels great. Good launch angle, very straight and is 10-15 yards longer than the club it replaces. Looks nice too!

 
I Love MY Power Play Caiman Ti Driver
By Lloyd the DezynerVerified Reviewer from Sparta MI on 7/8/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

The driver instills confidence that I never had before. I know I will hit the ball and hit it straight. I installed a Shadow UL Senior Flex graphite shaft. I get good distance for me.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The OEM's will have these next year.
By HybridhackVerified Reviewer from Southern Pennsylvania on 5/7/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot, Long distance, Nice address, Nice look, Workable
Cons:
Black oxide will wear
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Off The Tee, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
7 handicap
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I bought the 12* and assembled to an Aldila VS Proto
S-flex 45" D0. I am hitting some of the nicest, most solid feeling BOMBS I've ever hit. I've had dozens of OEM and components drivers and nothing compares to the confidence the Caiman gives me on the tee. The sound, feel and look are awesome. Long drives that I can work right or left at will doesn't hurt either.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Long and Straight is the Name
By SamVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 5/7/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
6
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I had pulled a Fujikura Reax shaft off of a Taylor Made R7. And I installed it on a 10.5 degree Caiman. This thing hits long and straight.. It hits higher than normal, but with today's balls you want to hit it high to get more distance/carry. It is hard to bend the ball with this one, so if you are looking for Draws and Fades you would have to choose a different club, but it is very stable and down the middle.

 
Super driver
By GolftraxVerified Reviewer from The Netherlands on 4/21/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player
Handicap:
31
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

After a poor round of golf using my own driver (McGregor) where I missed all tee shots. I took out the new Caiman to hit a few balls on the range. I fitted the Caiman with an Aldila Gamer shaft. The first shot was deadstraight over 200 mtrs long (with headwind). I hit the one after the other straight shot very far. I put the McGregor on e-bay when I got home. The only regret is that I only took the Caiman out after my round. Playing again tomorrow, I cannot wait....

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Driver on Market
By Jumpin JimmyVerified Reviewer from Washington State on 4/17/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Down the middle, Great Look, Long
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Off The Tee, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Tournament Golfer
Handicap:
5
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

This is best driver I have owned and for the money, you can't beat it. I put in the True Ace Blue Crush shaft and stiff trimmed it per advice from Jeff and I could not be happier. I hit it long off the tee and down the middle regularly. I owned the Prophet prior to this and loved it but it has been replaced with the Caiman. Buy it and put it together. You won't be disapointed.

 
Great new club
By JerryVerified Reviewer from The Villages Florida on 4/12/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Great Sound, Large Head, Large Sweet Spot
Cons:
None found yet
Best Uses:
Off The Tee
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
16
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

Have already tried the Acer Mantara titanium and the Power Play System Q2 drivers. The Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver is the best of all. Hits extremely long and very straight. I am outdriving my playing partners by 30-60 yards with their OEM drivers.
I believe this will be a big seller for me.

 
A+++ DISTANCE,FEEL AND SOUND!!!
By RGC1273Verified Reviewer from HIGH RIDGE on 3/16/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel
Cons:
Color
Best Uses:
Long Holes, Off The Tee, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player
Handicap:
20
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko TM1005D:Power Play Caiman Titanium Driver - Clubhead:

I built a 12 deg. with a r flex graphite shaft and a winn G7 grip.
The first thing I noticed is the balanced feel when swinging this.
The sound is very quiet when hitting this. To many, this will be very apealing. I have lost driver sales due to the "tinny" sound,so I was very impressed by the improvement here.
as far as distance, my longest drive to date was yesterday with this driver,340 yds (all fairway)!
My longest to that point was about 300 so when swinging correctly my distance has been grealy improved.
I love this driver, the only minor con is the color scheme. But with results like this, that should not even matter in the end!!
GIVE THIS A TRY ASAP!!
kevin@

russell custom golf

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Hireko Golf All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.