Buy the FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead on http://www.hirekogolf.com Print This PagePrint This Page
FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead image
 
(based on 36 ratings)
Brand: Hireko
Located in: Club Components, Golf Fairway Woods
Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:Golfers spend tens of millions of dollars each year try to find that one club to give them the maximum distance and forgiveness off of the tee. With certain rules in place by the USGA that put caps on technology, soon your distance could be maxed out. But as we age and golf courses continue to become longer and longer, it is going to be harder to reach those long par 4s in regulation or the possibility of reaching a par 5 in two... until now!

Our R&D department spared no expense and ingenuity in creating that same ideology of maximum distance and forgiveness off the tee, but transformed that into the ultimate fairway wood the - Caiman Rawpower Forged Fairway Wood.

First, we started out with an ultra-thin maraging steel face insert to increase the ball speed coming off of the face approaching the legal COR limit for spring-like effect. This is no easy task as the small face area of a fairway wood does not flex nearly as much as a modern driver face.

In addition to the "hot" face we elected to utilize "cup face" technology. This moves the weld significantly behind the face will possess a greater trampoline effect over the entire hitting surface resulting into greater distance rather than just the center of the face.

For accuracy, most golfers can hit a 5-wood reasonably well, but when they need extra distance they pull their 3-wood out and all of the sudden they hit the club with less than satisfactory results.?hy? The extra 1 inch in length makes it a little harder to return the club to the ball in a square position. This is one reason why we decided to make the head heavier to increase the solidness of contact.?Think of it as a very low lofted 5-wood.

Combined with the unique geometric shape we moved as much weight deep in the rear of the club as possible to create a very highest moment of inertia possible with a clubhead this size. This is the longest and straightest fairway wood we every produced, but it is still extremely user-friendly to hit off of the ground.

For those golfers serious about their game, the Caiman forged fairway is a must-have club to bridge the gap between the driver and their longest control club.

Note: Designed to be the same length and swingweight as a traditional #5-wood
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 36 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Accurate(33), Durable(3), Easy to hit(23), Forgiving(21), Great traction(4)
Best Uses:
Fairway(34), Longer shots(24), Rough(12), Tee shots(22)
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ recreational(5), Golf enthusiast(29)
Was this a gift?:
No(8)
 
I had my doubts...
By Big B+G BubbaVerified Reviewer from PA on 4/19/2011
Pros:
Easy To Hit, Long, Solid Feel
Cons:
Looks
Best Uses:
Fairway, Tee box
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Didn't like the look of this 3 Metal head at first glance, but put a ProLaunch Red Shaft in it, 43.5" long, weighted at D5. The head felt heavy but looked better. Contact felt great, ball flight was perfect and almost as long as my big stick. It's in the bag.....

 
Long and Straight
By Road KingVerified Reviewer from Anderson,Indiana on 3/25/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Good Grip, Smooth, Solid Feel
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Fairway
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I installed a GRAFALLOY PROLAUNCH RED FW REGULAR flex shaft into the CAIMAN RAW POWER#3 HEAD,made to recommended length of 42 inches.I chose a TOUR WRAP GRIP to top it off.This is the best performing #3 that I have ever played,it has replaced a club that was in my bag for over 20 years!I experimented with many different clubs over the years,none gave me the distance and accuracy of the CAIMAN RAW POWER!

 
As advertised
By the scatmanVerified Reviewer from wallingford, pa on 3/20/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Smooth, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Paired this witha Fuji Saishin shaft and smoothed the ball 230+ with a very easy smooth swing. Just have to remember to slow it down as the head has a heavier feel. When I tried to reach back for a few extra yards the ball hooked. Just slow it down and let it fly. This head does all the work.

 
Caiman rawpower 3 wood
By jdfire22Verified Reviewer from Florida in winter & Michigan in summer on 3/18/2011
Pros:
Accurate, A really long 3 wood, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Smooth, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

This is the longest 3wood I have ever used. I use it for long tight fairways where you have to be in play to have a shot and you are almost the same distance off the tee as if you used the driver except straighter with this 3wood. Works with a high launch or low launch shafts, use your preference. (jdfire22)

 
I was surprised
By Rich from PaVerified Reviewer from Philadelphia, Pa on 3/2/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I bought this clubhead based on the reviews of people who never hit a 3 wood great until they used this one. Add me to this list. I usually hit low lining shots with every other 3 wood off the deck except for this one. It really feels like a 5 wood in ballflight and feel, yet still gets excellent distance. I put an Aldila NV 65 gram x stiff shaft in this to match my driver and I'm very pleased with it. My driver swingspeed is 110-112 average. Only odd thing is the sound. Kind of high pitched like an aluminum bat but who cares with the results I'm getting.

 
I would buy this club over 7 over !!
By golfmarshal2000 from HighRiver Alberta Canada on 2/4/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Good Grip, Smooth, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
10
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I have been a club builder for over 10 yrs. & have never found a better 3 wood , & everyone I let try the club agrees. I have sold over 12 of these so that speaks for itself .I have always used a Harrison Mugen shaft & have made the length of a 5 wood as recomended for more control .I'm a natural golfer follow the Moe Norman way & it has been a good fit .

 
A buy again or recommend to a friend.
By Norm from Goveland, FL on 10/26/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Solid Feel, Strait and long
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Shafted with the Adreneline shaft is a perfect match at the recommended club length.

 
"Great clubhead great Demand"
By mukulVerified Reviewer from India on 10/12/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Smooth, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Assembled 3W Raw Power Caiman head to 42" with orange ion shaft flex-X. I felt good assembling it because of the feel and perfect weight at the bottom. Off the tee first time out drove straight to the edge of 10th green (par 4 , 267 yards). It doesn't get any better than this. Didn't wait or feel the need to take it out to the range first. Very accurate, Now after many years I found a club that matches my 15 year old 5W in feel and accuracy and whoa! what distance! The fellow golfers all want me to make one for them. Difficult to hit a bad shot with this club. Great job Hireko.

 
Perfect
By Swing DoctorVerified Reviewer from Washington, DC on 9/13/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving
Best Uses:
Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Really solid off the tee - very accurate and only 10-20 yards less distance than my driver!

 
Wery good!
By ClubmakerVerified Reviewer from Bulgaria on 9/11/2010
Pros:
Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Smooth
Best Uses:
Fairway, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Eazy swing, hit the ball nearly my driver.

 
Love my Caiman
By The BogeymanVerified Reviewer from Northeast PA on 8/14/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving
Best Uses:
Fairway, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

The ball flies off this very hot clubface. But the key to taking advantage of this fact is finding the right shaft (this is important for all clubs). I tried a couple different shafts and this was a good but ordinary 3wood. Then I put a prolite HL shaft in it and it became the best 3wood I've ever hit. Though the ProLite is a high launch shaft, I seem to hit a mid trajectory shot that carries well and rolls out a lot. The combination has helped me to reach long par 4's and short par 5's in two. The combination is also pretty straight, though the head seemed to hit straight with the other shafts also.

 
Different look, better performance
By ballpounder1 from Trinity, FL on 6/30/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Tournament Golfer
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I built the club with a driver shaft that I cut down to the recommended 5 wood length. This head with a heavier shaft might work even better.

 
Nice club
By Re-gowferVerified Reviewer from Haddon Twp, NJ on 6/9/2010
Pros:
Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Smooth, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Handicap:
20
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Paired this club with a True Ace Blue Crush shaft at 44", tipped as R flex. I left the shaft longer than recommended to see how it would play. I have had it at the range and noticed my accuracy is not what it should be, but choking up on the club appears to improve things so I will probably end up cutting it down to the recommended length. Nice looking, nice feeling it is a very workable club.

 
Fantastic club
By TommyVerified Reviewer from Odessa, Tx on 5/31/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Now use this club as my driver.Put in a Proforce gold fairway shaft and this club is a rocket. With Pro v1,s it is a fantastic club.

 
great information
By KenVerified Reviewer from Goldsby, Oklahoma on 5/11/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Good Grip, May be my favorite club, Smooth, Solid Feel
Cons:
NO CONS
Best Uses:
Fairway, I use it everywhere, Longer Shots, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
15
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

How can I say more!! I love these clubs. I have now ordered the driver to finish the set!!!!
Thank you so very much.

 
Very good performance, but wear issues
By GeorgeVerified Reviewer from Madison, AL on 5/11/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Excellent distance, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Cons:
Face showing wear
Best Uses:
Fairway, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
7
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Great addition to golf bag. Excellent distance, and straight. No difficulties in getting ball up off the fairway. Fitted with SK Fiber Tour Trac 80, and made 43" length to get a bit more distance. Already rewarding me by hitting a couple of par 5's in two, where normally would be chipping for third shot. Only issue is how long the finish will hold up, showing signs of wear after a couple of rounds.

 
Wow! Straight and long with no effort
By BrianVerified Reviewer from Houston, Tx on 2/8/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Handicap:
30
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

My swing is very inconsistent. (I am a 30 handicap and very good putter) I need some serious help with my woods. I bought this club because my 5 wood is the last club in my bag that I can hit with any regularity. This was the first club I ever made. I paired it with a Acer velocity shaft tipped stiff. I hit this thing so straight. All I have to do is swing really smooth and it just goes. I can only hit my driver about 230-260 on a good day and I hit this thing 230-250 easy. I must have hit this thing 30 times at the range and I could not hit a slice, which for me is unbelievable. Some times I get into a groove and then I loose it. So I thought that was what was happening. So I kept switching clubs and then coming back and hitting this thing perfect. I went home and came back to the range the next day. I was my normal inconsistent self with every other club in my bag except for this club. I really feel like I am cheating. Seriously if you are not the best at hitting your woods buy this club. You will never regret it.

 
Knock the cover off the ball, in time...
By DocVerified Reviewer from Lithia, Fl on 1/5/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Good Grip, Smooth, Solid Feel
Cons:
Getting control
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I like the idea of the 3 wood being heavier, with the ball being set back toward the 5 wood placement. Getting the lenght and flex of the shaft right (tipped firmer due to weight) took some time and 2 shafts / but the result is FANTASTIC -- increased accuracy and yardage. I would say this club is for the good golfer who wants to do better and who has control of his swing and can ajust to his/her club.

 
OMG STRAIGTH AND LONG!!!!
By LEROY DA CRUSHERVerified Reviewer from LAS VEGAS NEVADA on 12/22/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I PUT THIS HEAD ON A PURED UST GOLD 75 STIFF SHAFT ORIGINALLY IN A DRIVER. I HAD NO EXPECTATIONS AT ALL BUT MAN WAS I SURPRISED. I HIT THIS CLUB OFF THE TEE 215 YARDS AND OFF THE FAIRWAY 205 AND I'M ONLY 66 YEARS YOUNG.

 
solid and long
By mikeVerified Reviewer from nanaimo, british columbia on 12/8/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

assembled this 3 wood at 42.5 " with a true temper bi matrix (stiff) it was so long off the tee: 250 average without wind, 220 against a stiff breeze, 270 downwind, that I put away my xd580 for every tee shot but one. this club has a nice weight to it, effortless to generate power without overswinging, very hard to hit off line; i am really impressed, hope that more of these overweight maraging fairway woods are coming.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great 3 Wood!
By daveVerified Reviewer from pa on 6/4/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving
Best Uses:
Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I'm the type that has owned too many 3 woods in search for the "one". Well, this is it. I'm not great off the deck but this gets the job done. Where this club excels is off the tee. high and straight. my miss is a slice and with the 42" length and design of the club, i'm hitting it straighter than ever without any distance loss.
this 3 wood is very versitile, off the deck, tee it up for long par 3s, tight fairways, short par 4's.

the feel is soft and muted and feels solid on center face contact. if you're constantly changing 3 woods, then i highly suggest you try this. i built one for my brother and my dad likes it also. we may have 3 of the same club in one household, haha!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ball Buster
By Joe MamaVerified Reviewer from Rockies on 5/29/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Smooth, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I decided to build this as a long 3 wood. I selected a Blue Crush shaft, trimmed to a strong R, length of 46.5".

Off the fairway, this club powers through even fat shots. Off the tee, it is an amazing mini-driver.

The feel of this head is superb, as though I am crushing the ball.

 
Only 3 wood I can hit consistently
By Golf loverVerified Reviewer from Singapore on 5/13/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Forgiving, Smooth
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I fixed it to a Cadence 65 S shaft cut to regular 3 wood length 43". Absolute gem. Now I finally have a 3 wood that I can hit consistently. The long par 4s don't seem so long anymore and even threaten some of the Par 5s. Somehow the extra weight works for me.

 
Great Feel and Accurate
By ChrisVerified Reviewer from Orlando, FL on 5/5/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Smooth
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
7
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Very solid feel and weighting. Paired with Cadence red fairway and I love it! This is the most accurate wood I have ever hit off the fairway. Even though it is cut to a shorter length, it still goes long. I let two friends hit it and they both want one.

 
Great 3 Metal
By BogymanVerified Reviewer from Lake Elsinore, Ca on 5/4/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Hot club face
Best Uses:
Fairway
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player
Handicap:
22, Senior

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Long search for a 3 metal that I can hit consistantly. This is it! Used a 60 gr. senior shaft, 42.5". Good control and consistant straight hits.

 
Best 3 Wood Head on the Market!
By Nate's Custom SolutionsVerified Reviewer from Madison, AL on 3/14/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Smooth, Solid Feel, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Tournament Golfer
Handicap:
8
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I read the reviews, and ordered one... wanted a 43" 3 wood for distance, and after running the swing weight numbers put it on a Graphalloy Blue (butt trim only) stiff flex shaft (the swing weight numbers work out quite well for 43" if you use a butt trim only shaft). Finish it off with a Karma Black/Blue grip and you have a very attractive color coordinated club.

I have never in my life hit a 3 wood 275 yards until now. This thing hits so straight it absolutely boggles the mind! Yet you can bend it left or right at will if necessary. I get a lower straight trajectory for about the 1st 175-200 yards, then the thing rises high, lands, and rolls. I hit this thing so consistently it is actually hard to hit a bad shot with it, and never have I seen so much distance by swinging so easily! I'm building 2 more for my buddies (who incidentally accused me of cheating until they hit it for themselves)... buy this! ...you can also use this in place of a driver on those really narrow fairways, and still thread a needle at 275 yards! ...did I mention how much I really Love this club!? ...its like finding a new best friend! ;-)

 
Best 3 wood that I have ever hit
By CharlesVerified Reviewer from Lawrence, KS on 2/9/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
Hits low 80s
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I assembled this 3 wood with the UST V2 75g Stiff flex (driver swing speed is 100 to 105 mph) at 42 and a half inches, which is a half inch longer than recommended, but I did not find any problem with this length. This is very long, just as long as my Sonartec NP-99 14* 3 wood or may be a little longer. It goes on a slightly higher trajectory than the Sonartec (NV Stiff flex) and is more forgiving. It is either good for a tee shot in a narrow fairway or a long second shot to reach the green in two in par 5 holes. This is definitely the best 3 wood that I have hit so far.

 
Rawpower --- very fitting.
By RussVerified Reviewer from Crossville, Tn. on 2/6/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Great feel, No annoying sound
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Great design and balance impart a feeling of confidence which help successful execution.

 
LONG, STRAIGHT & SOLID!!!
By TomVerified Reviewer from Sacramento, CA on 2/5/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I have played golf for a long time, and have had way too many 3 woods that I was inconsistent with.
I ordered the Caiman, and shafted it with an Aldila NVS 75R. I cut the final length to 43". Hireko suggested 42", but I'm tall and need the extra inch. It is straight and long on every shot. It plays like a square head, but looks a lot nicer at address. Great product!

 
Excellent 3 Wood (as billed by Hireko)
By CharlieVerified Reviewer from Lexington, VA on 1/28/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Good feel, Great distance
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
14
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

This product allowed me to overcome the inability to consistently hit the 3 wood. The ability to make the club 42" and maintain the normal characteristics of a 3 wood was the selling factor to me. The head's durability is confirmed by the fact that I drilled the hosel to .350 inches to install a stock shaft from a Ping G10. I built one of these for a customer who is extremely pleased; I expect more club work from this gentleman.

 
Not just hype.
By LouisVerified Reviewer from Nashville TN on 1/25/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Lightweight, Smooth, Versatile
Cons:
No headcover
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

The outside temperatures rose above freezing last week and I proudly pulled the club on two 230 plus second shots on par 5's. The stock assembled club with a Lampkin Grip upgrade has now permanently replaced my Cleveland Launcher fairway wood. Simply put, the club is powerful, easy to hold a line with, and its 5 wood stock length offers the yardage expected of perfectly struck 3 wood. Congratulation on a great club. A conservative complimentary black club head cover would have been a nice addition.

 
A good versatile 3 wood
By TJVerified Reviewer from Ft Worth TX on 1/10/2009
Pros:
Accurate
Cons:
None found yet
Best Uses:
Fairway
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
6
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I am continually trying to find a the right combination of fairway woods and hybrids to carry, this 3 wood fits well. Long enough and High enough to fill a big gap between a 13 or 14 degree 3 wood and a 19 degree Hybrid.

Images shared by: TJ

Image Thumbnail
 
Great 3 Wood
By BruceVerified Reviewer from Bartlesville, Oklahoma on 12/3/2008
Pros:
Accurate
Best Uses:
Fairway
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Very controlled shots, few hooks or slices. The maraging face is HOT as advertised.
The concept of heaver weight fits me perfectly. My experiments with club weight show that an extra 20 to 50 grams makes no difference in swing speed, but the heavier club is better controlled - less tendency to feel the light club and "swing hard". Overall great club head - I teamed it with a 85 gram Grafalloy shaft.
Good fairway shots and I also like it for very controlled tee shots on short par 4's.
I do not yet see a downside - expecting good durability.
My friends already like it, may be building more.

 
Solid Surprise
By EasyVerified Reviewer from Ogden, Utah on 10/15/2008
Pros:
Accurate
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I am a 70 Year Old 14 Handicap Golfer, Averaging 18 Holes. Six Months Of The Year. I Frequent The Driving Range, And Am A Long Ball Hitter. My Last 6 Balls From My Range Bucket Were Saved For My New Caiman Forged 3 Wood. Each Shot Was Dead Straight, Had An Ideal Trajectory, Carried 230 Yards, With Additional 25 Yards Roll. The Sound And Solid Feel In The Hands At Impact Was Super, (Like The Compressing And Pop Of The Old 100 Black Titleist Ball Springing Off A Persimon Wood Head. Subsequent Shots At The Driving Range Produced Similar Results. I Have had Two Opporutnities On The Course. Both Second Shots on Long Par Fives. The Distance Hit Was 250+ Yards Each. I Live In Northern Utah, Elevation Apprx. 4,700 Ft. It Is Also Important To Add, The Shaft Used Was Pulled From My New Cobra Driver (ALDILA VS PROTO 'ByYou' Stiff). Untrimmed And 44" Long. I Am 5 Foot 10". The Shaft, Though Long is A Typicall Length For Me.
Today, (October 15th) A Friend At The Range Asked To Try My Club?
He Said He Didn't Carry A Three Wood Because He Hadn't Found One He Could Hit. He Hit Half A Dozen Balls From The Flat Mat. Each Shot Rose Quickly, Dead Straight, And Carried 200 Yards (He Is Also 70 Years Old. He Was So Impressed, He Pulled Sixty Dollars From His Wallet And Asked Me To Order A Head For Him!

 
The ball explodes off this clubface
By Jumpin-JimmyVerified Reviewer from Colfax, WA on 10/1/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Long, Smooth
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
5
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

Was looking to see if I could find a club to replace my favorite and only club in my bag I would never sell. I had and have a Golf Smith z9 14 degree 3 wood. It is not yet for sale but I have found a club that goes longer, straighter and is easier to hit. I can't believe it but it goes forever off the tee and is very consistent in distance and direction. It is awesome. I have the True Ace Blue Crush installed as stiff and love both. Vantastic. I never thought I could hit my 3 wood 250 but it is easy with this club.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
All I can say Is
By AZ13CatsFanVerified Reviewer from New Lisbon, WI on 9/30/2008
Pros:
Accurate, GREAT IDEA, IT WORKS, Long
Cons:
Not that I've found
Best Uses:
Around trees, Fairway, Longer Shots, Off the Tee, Over Trees, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
15
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko FM1005M:Power Play Caiman Rawpower Fairway Wood - Clubhead:

I recieved the head on Friday (2 weeks earlier then promised). I assembled it with a Aldila NVS 75S, tipped 1" and cut to 42.25" (.25" over standard for a 5-wood). I took it to a tournament on Saturday and by the 5th hole everyone of my playing partners were hitting it (with great results). Longest shot of the day, 255 yards out of the rough straight at the green. Best shot of the day, 235 over a 40 foot tall tree and on to the green of a par 5 (missed the eagle putt). If my first two rounds with this baby are any indication, it's the real deal. Can't wait to try a couple of other shafts I have sitting around. GREAT FAIRWAY HEAD. I love the 15* loft and the 5-wood weight and length. What a great idea.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Hireko Golf All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.