Buy the I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead on http://www.hirekogolf.com Print This PagePrint This Page
I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead image
 
(based on 40 ratings)
Brand: Hireko
Located in: Club Components, Golf Hybrids
Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:Having trouble with your regular irons? Try the Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron! The innovative hybrid shape is designed to be as easy to hit as your fairway woods, but with the accuracy you need in irons. The unique smooth sole design reduces the chance of digging into the ground and lowers the center of gravity to ensure that the ball gets out and gets airborne fast. Never hit a #1 iron in your life? Well, now you can!
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 40 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Accurate(35), Durable(8), Easy to hit(20), Forgiving(21), Great feel(10)
Best Uses:
Beginner(4), Casual play(4), Fairway(28), Improving game(5), Intermediate(4)
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ recreational(5), Golf enthusiast(29)
Handicap:
12(3), 16(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)
 
satisfied customer
By wahVerified Reviewer from lakeland, fl on 3/23/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Cons:
No problem to report
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
20
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

Has the feel and look of an iron at setup, but swings and strikes the ball like a hybrid.

 
Forgiving
By flatfootVerified Reviewer from Ponte Vedra, FL on 1/13/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

Takes the risk out of the hard to hit 3 iron. Just grip it and rip it.

 
A Godsend!
By CuzVerified Reviewer from Pittsburgh, PA on 11/14/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
12
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I was fed up with watching my Dad struggle with his driver and fairway woods, but crush his irons like no one I'd ever seen. After many failed attempts at different combinations of shafts and heads to try to bandage his swing flaws, I decided to build him #1, 2, and 3 driving irons with these, using the same shafts, swingweight and length progression as his irons. The results were better than expected. The goal was to give him clubs he could hit off of the tee. Now he has total confidence off the tee, with wood-like distance to boot, but can also can hit these from the deck with the same results. Mission accomplished!

 
outstanding,innovative best on market
By DENNIS PYTEL GOLFVerified Reviewer from DAVIS,CA. AT DAVIS MUNICIPAL GOLF COURSE on 11/3/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Good Grip, Smooth
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

best head to hit for beginners,seniors,ladies and easy/mid swing hitters.heighth and accuracy are amazing.as a professional club builder i find this to be the best and most versatile set i've ever been able to offer to the general public.as a very senior golfer myself i am playing #1-7.yep,a#1 IRON AT MY AGE.

 
You've Gotta Try Them !
By Ky Golf NutVerified Reviewer from Louisville, KY on 9/21/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Fairway, Hard pan lies
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
6
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

Confidence is a large part of playing this crazy game and the Power Play Select 5000s provide it, as I had hoped they would.

Never again will I be concerned about "chunking" an iron shot. Even if I hit it a bit "fat", especially from a hard-pan lie, the ball will still head down range and not end up an embarrasing few yards in front of me.

As of a couple of weeks ago, the only "traditional" irons I carry are my wedges. I may end up changing those out too. Time will tell.

My PPS 5000 set includes 6 iron through 9 iron and I credit them with lowering my typical round about four to five strokes.

If you want confidence in swinging your "irons" then you must put a set of PPS 5000s in your bag.

 
Duffer's delight
By jada1093Verified Reviewer from Upstate NY on 8/17/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving
Cons:
Appearance
Best Uses:
Any iron shot, Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
12 18 holes
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I really enjoy these hybrid iron heads. Used the same shafts I've been playing for three years and added some distance, more consistent accuracy, and above all, confidence. These things look a little strange, I'll admit, but they play great and I won't go back to traditional irons any time soon. Highly recommend these heads for anyone prone to hitting their irons "fat".

 
Very Versatile
By Nick MalVerified Reviewer from Bethpage, NY on 8/13/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving
Cons:
No offset, Reflectivesun glare
Best Uses:
Chips and pitches, Fairway, Rough, Sand
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

Lets face it, sometimes the modern wedge with very little offset and sharp leading edges freak out the mid to high handicapper. Skulls, fat shots, etc, etc, happen often, but with the PP Select 5000 SW hybrid head all those things are cured. cuts through the rough, easy to chip with and even for full SW shots. A little more offset would be nice, but we can't have everything. This clubhead is pretty close.

 
I CAN'T KEEP THEM IN MY BAG
By LEROY BOYVerified Reviewer from LAS VEGAS ,NEVADA on 7/29/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Smooth, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
16
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

EVERY TIME I MAKE A SET FOR MYSELF SOMEONE ALWAYS BUYS THEM RIGHT OUT OF MY BAG.

 
Dream Club
By KyGolfnutVerified Reviewer from Louisville, KY on 7/20/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Smooth, Solid Feel
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Fairway
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I built the 6 just to try out the head. The next day I ordered the 7. Today, I'm ordering the 8. Does that tell you something? The ball "rockets" off the club face on solid hits and lands like a feather on the green. Even on miss-hits the ball goes a good distance down the fairway - no more "chunks" that go nowhere. Try it - you'll be glad you did!

 
Power Play Select 5000 - Long and solid
By The Mad-HatterVerified Reviewer from Oconomowoc, WI on 7/15/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
16
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I switched to the to the Power Play Select 5000 hybrids last year for 3 - 9 iron. Married to the True Ace Red Storm hybid shaft, I not only get consistently solid feel, I hit the ball 5-10 yards further with this head than any iron I've ever used.

 
ANOTHER SET GONE
By LEROYVerified Reviewer from LAS VEGAS NV on 7/9/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Smooth, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Handicap:
16
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

THIS IS THE THIRD SET I HAVE BUILT AND AS SOON AS I LET SOMEONE TRY THEM THEY'RE SOLD RIGHT OUT OF MY BAG----AMAZING!! I'M NOT EVEN TRYING TO SELL THEM.

 
Great Hybrid
By RonVerified Reviewer from Pa on 6/23/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I have made a lot for my customers and they all like them without exception. It is terrific in the rough.

 
Middle of the Road.
By What Trees?Verified Reviewer from San Diego on 5/29/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

Average Club. Like my Q2 irons a lot more.

 
Never had a club that was easier to hit
By The BogeymanVerified Reviewer from Northeast PA on 5/21/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I built a set of powerplay irons (pw-6i) that I'm beginning to hit really well. I've always hit my short irons a little longer than the average golfer but longer irons were always inconsistent at best. So I decided to build a select 5000 hybrid 5 because it sort of matches my irons and because the price was right. I have hit this club about 20 times and I love it. It works from all lies and is especially useful out of the rough. I've hit other hybrids and none were as consistent and easy to hit. The distance is also very good. The ball seems hot coming off the face. I've hit a couple from about 180 out which I could swear were going to fall short into the front bunker but carried to the green. These were lower laser type shots. If I hit the ball higher the distance is just a little less. I am going to build a 3 and a 4 hybrid and if they perform as I hope they will then I may be able to take my 5 wood and 7 wood out of the bag.

 
Easy to hit Hybrids
By Turtle BoyVerified Reviewer from Chilliwack, BC Canada on 4/2/2010
Pros:
Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I'm 55 and my health is affected by ostioarthritis. I needed new clubs that were lighter and more forgiving in order to play a more satisfying round of golf. I had tried a set of carbon fibre shafted clubs where a couple times the clubs heads broke off. I decided to look into the light weight steel shaft for my new set. I coupled the Power Play 5000 hybrid heads with the light weight True Temper GS75 shafts and Golf Pride Multi Compound grips. I had a professional club builder put my clubs together specifically for my stance and swing. I have never been able to hit a 3 iron with any consistency but the Power Play hybrids 2 to PW are very easy to hit and get up in the air. I often use the 2 iron to get out of trouble spots where I need to keep the ball low and out of over hanging trees. Over all the combination of hybrid irons and light weight shafts are making a difference in my game.

 
Best value set around
By Nick MalVerified Reviewer from Bethpage, NY on 3/31/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving
Cons:
Glare on top line, Negative Offset SW - 6
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

These heads are a hit with my customers. I have even had them in my bag for a while. They help the mid to high handicappers play better and have more fun. The 6 - SW have negative offset which affects some players looking for super game improvement. All in all hard to find a better value set

 
Niblick Plus
By McHackaVerified Reviewer from West Sacramento, Ca on 12/16/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Chipping, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
Still don't golf enough
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

Built an 8 iron as a Niblick(Chipper) for those pesky fringe putts and bump and run chip shots and it performed great. Cut the shaft to wedge length but didn't lose much full swing distance

 
Unbelievable Golf Club
By fesserwetshaveVerified Reviewer from Albemarle,NC on 11/3/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Good Grip, Smooth, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

These clubs are accurate,slightly longer,very soft feel,have a high,yet piercing trajectory.Was able to hit all the cut,draw, trap shots that I hit with my blades with much more ease and control.Shaping shots and controling trajectory was a snap.I was able to lay the club face wide open with the short irons and sand wedge and hit some very accurate approach shots from 50 yds.in.
These clubs will greatly improve confidence.
My clubs are shafted with the Power Play 5000 shafts,R-Flex,tipped 2 clubs strong.

 
easy to hit clubs
By wnhorneVerified Reviewer from hawkinsville georgia on 9/2/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Solid Feel
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

had played x14 callaways, had transplant in 2005,did not start back playing until this year after 4 year lay off lost to much distance with irons these clubs are easy to hit and are very long

 
Best Hybrid I Have Played
By BagmanVerified Reviewer from Maine on 6/8/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Forgiving, Smooth, Solid Feel
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Tee Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
12
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I bought the 1,2,3,4 and built these with the True Temper High Launch Reg Steel Shafts to replace my fairway woods and my 3 and 4 iron, I increased the weight of the heads to increase the swing weight for a better feel, The 1 hybrid is great off the tee and can hit it consistantly between 230-250 yds, These Hybrids get the ball airbourne with ease off of any lie and the ball flight is straight and mid trajectory, I have tried numerous hybrid clubs and these by far are the best i have played, Buy these, You will not be dissapointed!!

 
Great sub for Irons
By RonVerified Reviewer from Pa on 4/7/2009
Pros:
Forgiving, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I have a lot of senior customers that love them because they are forgiving and provide more distance,Don't change anything

 
There is nothing wrong with this hybrid
By JimVerified Reviewer from Virginia on 3/9/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Better than I thought, Forgiving
Best Uses:
Fairway
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I was waiting for another hybrid product to be released, but already had the shafts I wanted. I figured that as inexpensive as these heads were, I would just pull them off later and make short clubs for my kids.

They are extremely forgiving, smooth and a joy to hit. You can really launch them with decent contact. I haven't hit anything at any price that I would consider to be significantly better.

If you are not comfortable with longer irons, make sure you use the right shaft for your swing characteristics, and try these hybrid heads.

 
Smile, smile, smile !
By BarberVerified Reviewer from Watersmeet, MI on 2/7/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Easy To Hit, Smooth, Solid Feel
Cons:
No cons for me
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
12
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

Why didn't I build these hybrids years ago. Why? Cause I'm an idiot.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding Head Blows Away Competition
By No More Bogies!!Verified Reviewer from Denver on 1/14/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Durable
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Shorter Shots
Describe Yourself:
Tournament Golfer
Handicap:
4
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

Let me begin by saying that this is the single best clubhead that I have ever used. I was raised on boards and blades and always remained around a 10 handicap.

The biggest problem with my game is that I am not an exceptionally long driver of the ball (210-220 yards on average- typical senior player).

Accordingly, I was always hitting a fairway wood on long (more than 400 yards) par 4 holes. These were not usually very accurate and I ended up playing for bogies and then trying to make it up with pars on par 3's and par 5's. I might get a few birdies here and there, but rarely broke 80, even with good course management.

I have tried all the gimmick clubs from the Alien Wedge, to the same length irons, and wacko putter designs on the market. Out of desperation for distance and control, I bought and assembled a set of these clubs, 1-SW. I paired this set with my old Kenneth Smith persimmon driver, a 45 year old Bullseye putter, and my blade 56 degree.

The result? My handicap dropped 6 strokes in one season!! My wallet was filled with buddies' cash.
And, I get multiple requests for referrals about this set.

What makes this set so good?

1) Long "irons" are vastly more accurate than fairway woods.

2) Shorter shafts allow for greater control as the set is built and weighted to standard iron specs.

3) Clubheads are very easy to align and hit.

4) Responsiveness to off-center hits is tremendous.

5) Consistent, consistent, consistent.

6) Clubhead is visually appealing but not distracting.

7) 5-7 yards gained per club over old blade set.

8) 1 and 2 "irons" make superior driving club on tight par 4's and long par 3's.

9) Old guys like me (55 years old) can hit ball with piercing ball flight like flatbellies.

10) Club is well made and can take lots of abuse, but do recommend purchasing hybrid head covers.

 
Sweet
By oldradarVerified Reviewer from Missouri on 1/6/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Smooth, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough, Shorter Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

These clubs are SWEET!!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Best I've Found
By FredVerified Reviewer from Macomb, Illinois on 10/21/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Excellent FeelFeedback, Great Power Delivery, Smooth
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Shorter Shots
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
Mid Handicap
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

These are the best Hybrid heads I've found. They do everything well and deliver exceptional power and accuracy. The only possible Con would be the shallow head can go under the ball in medium to deep rough.

Very easy to hit the long irons off the ground and the short irons are wonderful around the green.

I bought a set of Slazenger Raw Distance hybrid irons with Aldila shafts. These heads with regular flex Apollo steel stepless shafts blow the Slazengers away for distance and control.

I don't think you will find a better performing hybrid anywhere.

 
Power Play Select 5000 hybrid
By RonVerified Reviewer from Pennsylvania on 10/1/2008
Pros:
Versatile
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

this hybrid with a cadence hybrid shaft is an awesome combo

 
True Iron Hybrid
By MarkVerified Reviewer from Upstate, NY on 7/6/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Smooth, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fairway, Longer Shots, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I can't say enough about these clubs. The profile is a true Iron Hybrid and is as good out of the rough as it is off the fairway. They are Straight and long. I assembled the 21* and 24* with the Apollo Shadow Steel shaft in Stiff Flex with the Karma Grey\Black Grips. I prefer a heavier club so added 7 grams of weight to each club and trimmed accordingly.

I am going to get the 15* and 18* a try.

 
Fun turns serious
By Pastor ChrisVerified Reviewer from Stillwater, OK on 4/7/2008
Pros:
Accurate
Cons:
Absolutley none
Best Uses:
Fairway, Hazards on the left, Longer Shots
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

Just for fun, I put this together with the Powerflex CPF50 shaft (on sale, trimmed stiff) with the GolfPride midsize grip. I thought, Why not, it will be a great conversation piece for less than $20. Turned out to be amazing. Three PGA teaching pros couldn't get it to go left at all, (One finally got a snap hook, but did everything in the book to get a hook, and even then admitted to going way overboard.) and attempts to slice only produced a slight draw. Mine just kept going straight forever. I am now trying to figure out what I am going to trade out in my bag for this club. If you swing fast enough to hit a 2 iron, you owe it to yourself to try this out.

 
Pleasantly Surprised and Impressed
By CABVerified Reviewer from Midwestern US on 11/5/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Smooth, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fairway, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
14
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

While I will not make great claims about shaving numerous strokes off my game, I feel better using these clubs.

I have never felt entirely comfortable hitting conventional or even wide-sole game improvement irons. I tried these. After 2-3 rounds and getting used to these, I am very pleased. I am much more accurate and consistent and feel comfortable swinging these clubs from anywhere on the course.

I would strongly suggest these clubs for those who hit 3-4 hybrids and/or 7-9 woods better than they hit irons. I would also suggest these to anyone who tends to to take little or no divot. I found these clubs to be very forgiving and accurate.

 
Improve your game with Hybrid clubs
By Big EdVerified Reviewer from Stedman NC on 8/16/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

These clubs help take 6 to 8 strokes off my game in less than 30 days. I plan to add a couple of clubs that I normally did not use. I will eventually replace most of my fairway wood with thes Hybrids.

 
Vantastic hybrids
By jumpin jimmyVerified Reviewer from Washington on 8/6/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast, Tournament Golfer
Handicap:
5
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I have played traditional irons my entire career. I purchased the 7 and pw to try these out. I hit 7 balls on a practice hole with the 7 hybrid and hit the green 6 out of 7 and 3 were right next to hole. I have never hit that consistent with any irons. They are so easy to hit. Installed the stiff dynamic gold steel shafts in these. I am buying rest of set.

 
KEEP MAKING THESE - DO NOT CHANGE.
By JOHN AT 59 LOSING DISTANCEVerified Reviewer from MASSILLON, OH on 7/23/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel, GREAT OFF HARD DRY ROUGH, Large Sweet Spot, WILL FLY HIGH
Cons:
WILL RUN THE GREEN
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
23
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

THE PAST 2 YEARS MY IRONS DO NOT HAVE THE DISTANCE AND HAVE BEEN HAVING MORE MIS-HITS. CHANGED TO A STEEL "A" FLEX WHICH DID HELP SOME. GOT A SET, 4-PW, AND PULLED MY OLD IRON HEADS OFF AND PUT THESE ON MY TRUE TEMPER STEEL SHAFTS. PLAYED 2 ROUNDS AND WHAT A DELIGHT. NOW THE 4 IRON GOES 170 YARDS AND THE PW IS DEADLY AT 100 OR LESS. HIGHLY RECOMENDED FOR ANYONE. CLOSE IN PITCHES DO RUN. SO PLAY THE GREEN SHORT.

 
Nice club to reduce fat or thin shots.
By MilfordleftyVerified Reviewer from Milford, MI on 7/11/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Improving Game
Describe Yourself:
Beginner, Casual Player, Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
25
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I played the 5I for some time. Built 6-PW with Apollo Standard Steel in A-Flex. No more skulls or fat shots. Even can open the club up for some nice high flop shots. Good club for those who have a tendency to hit fat or thin shots occasionally. Now I just need to get used to the distances between clubs compared to my old cavity back irons.

 
WOW FACTOR
By LEROY H.Verified Reviewer from LAS VEGAS, NEVADA on 4/12/2007
Pros:
Durable, Great Feel
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Rough, Travel
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I PUT TOGETHER THE 2,3,4,&5 IRON HYBRIDS AND I WAS TOTALLY AMAZED AT THE ACCURACY AND EASE OF GETTING THE SHOTS UP IN ANY WEATHER CONDITION OR LIE. I USED TRUE TEMPER DYNAMIC GOLD SHAFTS W/SENSICORE AND THEY FEEL GREAT. NEXT I'LL TRY A QUALITY GRAPHITE FOR GREATER DISTANCE ALTHOUGH THE STEEL SHAFT'S IS COMPARABLE TO THE IRON'S AND MAKES A GOOD TRANSITION WITH OTHER IRONS.

 
Easiest clubs to hit!
By 2forthemoneyVerified Reviewer from Missoula, MT on 3/21/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Beginner, Casual Play, Intermediate
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I've owned a complete set for about a year now (5-SW) and hit these better than any other club I have tried (and I have tried a lot of them). These are all around great clubs.

 
Plays like conventional irons
By popsVerified Reviewer from north central florida on 3/8/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Beginner, Casual Play, Intermediate
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

Great club,promotes confidence,you feel like you dont have to do anything special just swing the club and let it do the work.I would never hit a conventional sand wedge from the fairway,seemed to always dig in,not anymore,and you will be amazed how it plays out of the sand,alot easier to pick the ball.awsome clubs.These are not just to replace long irons,great through entire set.

 
Power Play Select 5000 hybrid Irons
By J RVerified Reviewer from Tucson, Az. on 3/6/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Great price, Large Sweet Spot
Cons:
Paint chips and discolors
Best Uses:
Beginner, Casual Play, Intermediate, Pro, Tournament Play
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I've tried 3 other brands including Big Names and have found the 5000 to be equal or better for much less money..I build clubs for my friends (as a hobby) and have made 6 sets (4- PW) and numerous 4,5 & 6 irons...no complaints..they tell others about their great Hybrids

 
Surprised at the performance.
By VJVerified Reviewer from Elyria, Ohio on 2/24/2007
Pros:
Great Feel
Best Uses:
Driving, Tournament Play
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

I have the 1 iron and I've found this club to be both great out of the fairway and off the tee. I am not a long hitter I average 245-260 using my driver off the tee. You can imagine how surprised I was when hitting this club on the average of 215-225 yards. The club was built with a Royal Precision, Rifle Iron Shaft, 5.0 Flex. Great on those tight fairways.

 
solid, inexpensive without the hook bias
By frankVerified Reviewer from virginia on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot, Very playable
Best Uses:
Beginner, Casual Play, Intermediate, Longer Shots, Tournament Play
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I94025:Power Play Select 5000 Hybrid Iron - Clubhead:

i can pull off shots with these that the newest hook biased hybrids have taken out of the arsenal. low bullets, cuts, draws. nice size and good forgiveness, but won't eliminate a lousy swing.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Hireko Golf All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.