Buy the I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead on http://www.hirekogolf.com Print This PagePrint This Page
I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead image
 
(based on 31 ratings)
Brand: Hireko
Located in: Club Components, Golf Irons
Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:Who says an advanced game improvement model can't look conventional? While it does feature a moderate topline, reduced offset and classic profile at address, the secret is in the sole and rear cavity mass stabilizing bar. Enhanced perimeter weighting and wider, thicker sole focuses weight where it is needed for most golfers to experience a higher ball flight, a more solid feel and with precision accuracy. Put some muscle between you and the ball and fire away in confidence.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 31 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Accurate(30), Durable(15), Great feel(26), Large sweet spot(20)
Best Uses:
Improving game(29), Replacement(18), Rough(6), Travel(3), Upgrade(15)
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ recreational(3), Golf enthusiast(28)
Handicap:
7(4)
Was this a gift?:
No(6)
 
Love the weight and feel
By AceclubmanVerified Reviewer from Lower Burrell, PA on 2/2/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

I paired the irons with shadow graphite shafts and i love the feel and control. The weight of the heads pulls the club through the swing and gives great control on short pitches and chips.

 
Awesome clubs
By TwitchVerified Reviewer from Mt Sterling, KY on 1/18/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Rough, Travel, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

I have built a few sets of this club for different people. Everyone has commented that this club added distance and improved their game. I believe the whole club is a sweet spot !!

 
Awesome Club
By TwitchVerified Reviewer from Mt Sterling, KY on 1/18/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Rough, Travel, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

I have built a few sets of this club for different people. Everyone has commented that this club added distance and improved their game. I believe the whole club is a sweet spot !!

 
Awesome Club
By TwitchVerified Reviewer from Mt Sterling, KY on 1/18/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Rough, Travel, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

I have built a few sets of this club for different people. Everyone has commented that this club added distance and improved their game. I believe the whole club is a sweet spot !!

 
from the first swing great feel !
By golfmarshal2000 from HighRiver Alberta Canada on 12/21/2010
Pros:
Great balance distance
Best Uses:
Off the fairway
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
12 HDCP
Was this a gift?:
No

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

I recently lost my 6 iron & can't replace it so decided after reading the reviews to try the Q2 irons , they have proven to be as good as the reviews I read . Would recomend to all types of golfers , I have been building clubs for over 10years you can't beat the value packed into these irons.

 
good product
By IronmikeVerified Reviewer from Huskerland on 9/15/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
18
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

I made a set of these 4 thru AW shafted with TTDG 300 for a friend and he just raves about them. After playing with him I wish I made a set for myself.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Power Play Q2 sets up & performs nicely
By DocVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 8/11/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Easy to adjust loft, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
13
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

As a golf "mechanic" I bought this clubhead to build a "carry" set of clubs - to reduce weight while carrying a lightweight bag and walking. My 11-club set was designed around 10 and 15 degree loft woods, and System Q2 irons of 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 55 degrees (the sand wedge), and putter. 40% weight reduction. The three Q2 wedges were already the correct loft/lie, and I adusted the 3, 6, and 9 slightly. The 4 became a 4.5, and the 7 became a 7.5 iron. Adjustments were fairly easy, although those two irons had to have bigger loft/lie changes than the others. The 5-degree gaps produce a 12-15 yd difference in distance, which is within my ability level. The irons sit square, do not balloon the ball, and do not produce wild, curving ball flight. The wedges have good balance for half shots, and the sand wedge can be fanned open for good bunker play. They also look sharp. Although I review a lot of clubs, and normally can find at least one thing that needs improving, in this case the price, performance, styling of the Power Play System Q2 merit the first 5-star rating I have ever given. I would ask Hireko to check the steel composition. Some websites say they are 17-4; others say 631. 631 is a little easier to adjust.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
System Q2 accurate without ballooning
By DocVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 8/2/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Trajectory good
Best Uses:
Customizing, Improving Game, Replacement
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
13
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Clubmaking enthusiast designed set of 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, and 55 degree irons. Goal was to cut weight in bag down to just 11 clubs (2 woods, 5 irons, 3 wedges, plus putter). 40% weight reduction with lightweight stand bag. 5-degree gaps give about 12-15 yds incremental distance - good enough for most amateurs. 12-deg bounce on 55 degree sand wedge is adequate for bunkers, cabbage, plus OK from fairway. Found them easy to hit straight, reasonable distance, non-ballooning ball flight, sufficient bite with lofted half shots. Visually attractive, inexpensive, nice soling - easy to align. Also easy to alter lie and loft to customize. Some companies say 17-4 steel, others say 431. Must be 431 steel to adjust as easily as I tweaked them. Recommended!

 
Great iron heads, accurate great feel
By Don Driver from Superior WI. on 6/25/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Rough
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Easiest to hit irons I've ever used!

 
Great Clubs!
By What Trees?Verified Reviewer from San Diego on 5/29/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Bought the 6 iron to try. Much better than expected. Ordered a set. If I hit them on the couse the way I'm hitting them on the range, they'll be in my bag a long time.

 
Superb value, superb performance.
By DoylersVerified Reviewer from Rep. of Ireland on 5/29/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel
Best Uses:
Improving Game
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

I've build 7 sets of these for my clients. I've managed to drag them away from the name brands and the feedback can't be any better. I've built most sets with FST Pro 115 irons, but some with Aldila VX and UST Iron Shafts. All good results, increased distance etc. The finished iron performs well, but I think Hireko deserve a lot of credit for all the game improvement features that are built into this head. Excellent work, and hope you can build on this for 2011.

 
A Perfect Marriage of Style & Function
By Colonel KlinkVerified Reviewer from Sunbury, OH on 5/22/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Workability
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
12
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

I wanted to make the transition from a forged cavity back iron with a lightweight steel shaft to an iron that retained similar characteristics with a graphite shaft. After doing my homework I settled on the System Q because of the minimal offset throughout the 7, 8 & 9 irons.

I paired them with Graphite Design G-Tech R/S flex shafts built half-inch over standard. I chose this shaft primarily because the raw weight at 80g is similar to "lite" steel products now on the market.

The outcome was surprising in that while I'm able to hit my yardages with less effort, I can actually work the ball with these irons. Whether in the rough or off the fairway they feel solid at impact and provide adequate feedback on off center contact.

The System Q irons imparted adequate spin to hold the ball within a few paces of the divot on the greens.

Overall, I found this to be the results I was hoping for and would suggest to anyone considering the purchase of new irons to give the System Q irons a try.

 
atractive and playable
By DonVerified Reviewer from Tampa on 3/30/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

I built a set of irons 5-sw with true temper tx pro in reg. flex and standard length. Customer has called me every day for over a week absolutely glowing about these irons and matching utility woods in 4 and 5. Used same shafts for the utilities. My only complaint is that the iron heads arrived in mis matched weights thus making a real challange to make a set with a D2 swing weight.

 
Great wide sole choice
By tbmikeVerified Reviewer from Tampa Bay FL on 3/30/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
20
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Wide sole and deep cavity generate confidence and produces long solid hits.

 
Great clubheads, I love them
By AlVerified Reviewer from Boynton Beach, Fl on 3/23/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Solid feel

 
Sleeper Irons from Hireko
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Tampa Bay FL on 3/9/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

I hit these iron farther than my present set. Great looking head that feels really solid at impact and the ball jumps off the face.

 
these irons perform great
By hal from georgetown,tx on 3/5/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

the irons perform great with the lite weight steel shafts

 
Nice irons, pretty straight, easy to hit
By drgolfVerified Reviewer from Michigan on 3/5/2010
Pros:
Accurate, Large Sweet Spot
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Improving Game
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Have only hit these at the range but when paired with the right shaft they have a nice sweet spot, hit straight, and have a good feel. They are heavier than most heads so keep that in mind.

 
Have them still!! Won't let em go
By Golf NutVerified Reviewer from Charlotte,NC on 12/30/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
7

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Had these for over 2 years now. What can I say? Well, my game keeps improving. With the grooves being modified for 2010, why the bleep should I forfeit these clubs. No way Baby!

 
Solid, Accurate Irons
By BrownieVerified Reviewer from Ohio on 6/17/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel
Best Uses:
Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
3
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Built a set for my son who plays sporadically. I tried them at the range and also dropped a few balls in a casual round with him to compare the 7 and 9 irons. I am building myself a set after hitting his and putting my Titelist irons (that I've had for approx. 5 years) on [...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pleased
By Tim not the tool manVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 3/27/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Built a set of these with Apollo Shadow steel shafts trimmed stiff +1". I got these to replace my ancient XTRII, and I couldn't be happier. Easy to put together, and what a difference I have seen in my game. Nice High trajectory and the ball flies a mile straight down the fairway even on mis-hits. I like back cavity which helps create a nice smooth swing through the ball. Only complaint is they are a little heavier than I expected (which could have more to do with the shaft), it's exausting to hit more than about 50 balls at the range. Otherwise, very pleased.

 
System Q2......Nice!
By The Big GuyVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville, FL on 2/17/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

I built a set of System 2 (4-SW) as a demo set. I mounted them on True Temper Senicore shafts in a R-flex and Winn V-17 grips. They caught the eye of all my golfing buddies when I played them...everyone liked how they looked and felt. One guy liked them so much he bought them before anyone else could even try them! I guess I need to build another set!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding Irons
By Ernie the ElderVerified Reviewer from Raleigh, NC on 11/28/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, High soft landing, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Rough, Tight lies
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
15
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

I have tried three different six iron heads, trying to settle on the ideal replacement for my Nicket irons, and this iron fits all of my needs. I built the 6I, PW, GW and SW and fitted them with the Cadence Pro 75 (a really great iron shaft), tipped regular, with Winn oversize DSI grips and played them today. I can find nothing to complain about. The SW chips out of deep green side grass or tight lies with ease (what a great feel). The 6I has a high and straight ball flight that sails 170 yds, and comes off the club like butter. I am so pleased that I just ordered the 5I, 7I, 8I & 9I to complete my set and look forward to 'kicking' the butts of the rest of the 70 year old's with whom I play in the Pine Hollow Golf Club senior league.

 
Just plain nice
By BrianVerified Reviewer from Central Ohio on 10/6/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel
Best Uses:
Improving Game
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
20
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

I built a demo 6-iron with Apollo Shadow steel R-flex tipped an extra 1/2" (based on DSFI ratings). Overall, this is a great head that I feel rather confident in at address despite the shortish blade length. Nice, wide sole and sufficient bounce angles to help fight digging. The topline is average thickness I'd say. I'm strongly considering these to replace my current irons. Time will tell.

 
Beautiful and Yet Gets the Job Done
By PhilVerified Reviewer from Englewood, Florida on 10/1/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Built a set of irons, 5 iron thru SW, to replace an older set of Power Play Irons that I have been using for a couple of years. Assembled using Apollo Stepless steel shafts and finished off with 1/2 black ferrells and Karma grips. Not only are these club showroom quality, they want to play. Large sweet spot and the ball launches off the club face. Ready to take money away from my buddies.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great looking iron
By the putterVerified Reviewer from TROY,MI on 9/5/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Durable
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Player
Handicap:
18
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Beautiful club .I used Apollo Acculite stiff shaft,the probably should haved used reg shaft. Still getting accustomed to the club.

 
Great feel with good looks
By ChezVerified Reviewer from Killeen, TX on 8/1/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel
Best Uses:
Improving Game
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Really good looking club that is very easy to hit. Recommend for all handicaps.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Club Head
By Golf NutVerified Reviewer from Charlotte, NC on 7/17/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Durable, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
7
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Unbelievable club for the price. I picked up 5 thru wedge. The muscle behind these babies give you a high penetrating flight right at your target! Wasn't sure how these clubs would feel, I bought them because they just looked so darn cool!
The slight miss hits were right on target with some spin on the short irons. Great club you guys made here at Hireko...!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sweet Feel
By JohnVerified Reviewer from Rochester Hills, MI on 7/14/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
7
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

These irons are effortless. Great feel and spin. Built them with Aldila VX shafts. Ball flies further and stops faster than my last two sets of irons.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Super Game Improvement at a Great Value!
By Bill E. GoatVerified Reviewer from The desert on a horse with no name. on 6/26/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Aesthetically Pleasing, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot, Sharp Grooves, very forgiving
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Show off to your 4-some, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
8
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

Built this set for my brother who's learning the game. I matched the heads with Apollo Shadow shafts tipped to a regular flex. These irons are as close to "Point and Shoot" as you can get from Hireko. Nice high trajectory without the balloon effect. I imagine you can get a more penetrating flight with a mid or high bend point shaft. On and off center hits feel the same, which is buttery smooth (almost like graphite), and hits off the toe are still very rewarding. Most shots travel straight or with a very, very slight draw. It's a bit difficult to force a useful draw or fade but I believe this is due to the game improvement qualities of the head. A nice plus was the extremely sharp grooves. I don't know if all of the heads will exhibit this or if we got a set of heads grooved by a fresh tooling machine, but hitting range balls definitely left some bits of urethane in the grooves and a smile on my brother's face when he stuck his ball onto the range green from 150 yards out with his 8 iron. They look great too, much better than the pictures!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Look Great and play even better!!
By Johns228Verified Reviewer from Mpls, Minnesota on 6/13/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Ball spins and stops, Great Feel, Large Sweet Spot
Cons:
Have not found one yet
Best Uses:
Improving Game, Replacement, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Golf Enthusiast
Handicap:
7
Bottom Line:

Comments about Hireko I3486:Power Play System Q2 Iron - Clubhead:

In the 80's and early 90's I owned a Custom Golf shop for 9 years. I have made hundreds of set. So I have played and hit a lot of clubs and drivers. These Clubs are the easies I have hit. They are long and land soft. They spin will too. Being Left handed it is always hard to find a good club. For me I can stop looking now.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Hireko Golf All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.